Harper’s Weekly

In my further attempts to identify photos in my great grandmother’s photo album, I noticed this one, which I believe to be the matriarch of the influential Keen/Butcher family that my family worked with. This was probably Emma Keen, wife of William Keen, first brain surgeon in the U.S. In any case, I noticed that she is carrying some mail. Zooming in and rotating allowed me to see that this is an issue of Harper’s Weekly, a popular political magazine, published from 1857-1916. Google image searching allowed me to find one that fairly well matches, though I am not convinced it is the correct edition. If it is, this dates from about the date of the issue, March 9, 1912. What do you think? Did I get the right issue? Would you have seen the magazine and realized that it could help to date the photo?

This entry was posted in family history, family photos, family tree, genealogy, photo identification, photo preservation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harper’s Weekly

  1. Cathy says:

    It looks right to me. But you are such a wiz at noticing these things. I don’t know if my opinion matters. LOL

Leave a Reply

